Karen Christensen, Ph.D., was elected chairman of the board of directors of the Professional Animal Auditor Certification Organization at the group’s annual meeting in Kansas City on Sept. 7. 

Christensen, the director of technical services for O.K. Farms, was PAACO’s vice chair the previous two years. She succeeds David Hermes, DVM. Terry Mader, Ph.D., professor, extension beef specialist for the University of Nebraska, was named vice chairman. Other officers include:

Secretary: Frank Owsley, Ph.D.; associate professor, extension animal scientist, Auburn University

Treasurer: Kenton Kreager, DVM; senior technical service veterinarian for HyLine International


Executive Director: Mike Simpson

Director: Cassandra Tucker, Ph.D.; assistant professor, University of California-Davis; Federation of Animal Science Societies

Director: Jennifer Walker, DVM, Ph.D.; director of dairy stewardship, Dean Foods; American Association of Bovine Practitioners