Shareholders of Tyson Foods Inc. elected nine people to the company's board of directors, including seven independent directors. The vote was announced at Tyson's annual meeting of shareholders in Springdale, Ark.


Those elected were Chairman John Tyson, Kathleen M. Bader, Gaurdie E. Banister Jr., Jim Kever, Kevin M. McNamara, Brad T. Sauer, Robert Thurber, Barbara A. Tyson and Albert C. Zapanta.