The U.S. Poultry & Egg Association (USPOULTRY) recognized six poultry farms who received the annual Family Farm Environmental Excellence Award at the International Poultry Expo, part of the 2014 International Production & Processing Expo. The award is given in acknowledgment of exemplary environmental stewardship by family farmers engaged in poultry and egg production

"The poultry industry has been acknowledged as a leader in environmental management for many years. We rely on the efforts of family farmers to sustainably produce poultry and egg products. These six winners represent the best of these producers," said newly elected USPOULTRY Chairman Elton Maddox, Wayne Farms, Oakwood, Ga. 

Applicants were rated in several categories, including dry litter or liquid manure management, nutrient management planning, community involvement, wildlife enhancement techniques, innovative nutrient management techniques, and participation in education or outreach programs. Applications were reviewed and farm visits conducted by a team of environmental professionals from universities, regulatory agencies, and state trade associations in selecting national winners.


Winners were chosen from six geographical regions from throughout the U.S., and the Galen Kropf farm was also recognized:

  • North Central Region - Lefevre Farms, Fort Recovery, Ohio
    Tom Lefevre, nominated by Ohio Poultry Association
  • Northeast Region - Walker Poultry Farm, Fort Seybert, W.Va.
    Dale Walker, nominated by Pilgrim's Pride and the West Virginia Poultry Association
  • South Central Region - Holliday Farms, Prairie Home, Mo.
    Chris Holliday, nominated by Cargill Turkey Production, LLC
  • Southeast Region - Hilton Davis Farms LLC, Waynesboro, Miss.
    Hilton Davis, nominated by Marshall Durbin
  • Southwest Region - Bar G Ranch Poultry, Rogers, Texas
    Darrell Glaser, nominated by Texas Poultry Federation and Cargill Turkey Production, LLC
  • West Region - Arvance Ranch, Inc., Kerman, Calif.
    Brad Arvance, nominated by Foster Farms
  • Unique Byproduct Handling Award - Galen Kropf, Berryville, Ark.
    Galen Kropf, nominated by Cargill Turkey Production, LLC