Agriculture Secretary Mike Johanns has appointed nine members and nine alternates to the American Egg Board for the 2007-2008 term. All members and alternates will serve two-year terms.

The board administers an egg research and promotion program authorized by the Egg Research and Consumer Information Act of 1974. It is composed of 18 members and 18 alternates representing six regions. The Secretary of Agriculture selects appointees from egg producers nominated by organizations representing the egg industry.

Reappointed members and alternates, by region, are:

* North Atlantic states - Paul D. Sauder, Lititz, Pennsylvania, member; Christopher M. Pierce, Annville, Pennsylvania, member; James L. Adams, Mount Joy, Pennsylvania, alternate.

* South Atlantic states - Adolphus (Dolph) B. Baker, Jackson, Mississippi, member; Michael H. Bynum, Fayetteville, Arkansas, alternate.

* East North Central states - Thomas E. Hertzfeld, I, Waterville, Ohio, member.

* West North Central states - Brian S. Hayward, Warsaw, Indiana, member; Loren E. Asche, Lake Mills, Wisconsin, member; Ruth Ann Hendrix, Seymour, Indiana, alternate; Alfred J. Schimpf, Dousman, Wisconsin, alternate.


* South Central states- Bruce L. Dooyema, Sioux Center, Iowa, member; Blair J. Van Zetten, Oskaloosa, Iowa, alternate.

* Western states - V. Wayne Mooney, Garland, Texas, member; David W. Elbel, College Station, Texas, alternate.

Newly appointed members and alternates, by region, are:

* North Atlantic states- John L. Sperry, Atlantic, Pennsylvania, alternate.

* East North Central states - Ronald L. (Tad) Gross, St. Henry, Ohio, member; Brian J. Winner, New Weston, Ohio, alternate; Robert F. Gornichec, Centerburg, Ohio, alternate.

The Secretary also named Timothy J. Bebee, Wakefield, Nebraska, member; Loren W. Bosma, Sibley, Iowa, member; Richard R. Hall, Massena, Iowa, alternate; and Gregory B. Nelson, Manhattan, Kansas, alternate, to fill vacancies in the South Central states. These appointments will complete vacant board member terms expiring Dec. 31, 2007.

Membership terms on the board are staggered so that half of the membership is appointed each year in order to provide continuity in policy. The program is funded entirely by a 10-cent per 30-dozen case assessment on eggs marketed by producers with flocks of over 75,000 hens. USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service, an agency of the marketing and regulatory programs mission area, monitors operations of the board.