Rep. K. Michael Conaway, R-Texas, has been chosen to serve as the 50th chairman of the House Agriculture Committee. He replaces Rep. Frank Lucas, R-Oklahoma, who is expected to remain on the committee but had to relinquish his leadership position because of rules of term limits.

“I am humbled and honored to be selected as the 50th chairman of the storied House Committee on Agriculture.  The work that farmers and ranchers do is part of our country’s foundation. They feed, fuel, and clothe our nation. I look forward to building on the bipartisan work of the chairmen who have led this committee for the past two centuries,” said Conaway.

“I represent, and love, rural America. It’s the backbone of our country. The values and concepts that make America great are stored in rural America, and I want to protect that. There are fewer and fewer voices representing rural America, and I am honored to be one of those voices. That is my overarching drive as the committee moves forward.”


Rep. Collin Peterson, D-Minnesota, will retain his role as the committee’s ranking member.

“I congratulate Congressman Conaway on his election to chairman of the House Agriculture Committee. … I think we can find common ground as the committee oversees farm bill implementation and reauthorizing the [Commodity Futures Trading Commission] during the next Congress. The agriculture committee has a strong bipartisan tradition, which I look forward to continuing under Chairman Conaway,” stated Peterson.

“I would also like to commend Chairman Lucas for his leadership. While he will no longer be chairman, I have no doubt he will remain a strong advocate for America’s farmers and ranchers and a respected member of the agriculture committee.”