Jim Wayt, managing director of Intervision Foods in Atlanta, has been elected chairman of the board of the USA Poultry & Egg Export Council (USAPEEC) for 2015-16.

Wayt succeeds outgoing Chairman Mike Little, vice president of sales at Mountaire Farms in Selbyville, Delaware. Wayt’s election came June 18 during USAPEEC’s annual meeting in Charleston, South Carolina.

As chairman, Wayt will head the eight-member USAPEEC Executive Committee, which sets policy and gives direction to USAPEEC, an organization whose mission is to promote and increase exports of U.S. chicken, turkey, duck, and egg products worldwide.

Also elected to the executive committee were, Steve Monroe of Sanderson Farms in Laurel, Mississippi, first vice chairman; and Steve Lykken, senior vice president at Jennie-O Turkey Store in Wilmar, Minnesota, second vice chairman. Joel Coleman, vice president and general manager of international sales at Butterball in Mt. Olive, North Carolina, was re-elected secretary-treasurer of the organization.

Neil Carey of Simmons Prepared Foods in Siloam Springs, Arkansas, was re-elected chairman of USAPEEC’s Marketing Committee. The chairman of this committee also serves on the board and has a seat on the Executive Committee.


Rounding out the executive committee as newly appointed at-large members are Scott Chapman of Lineage Logistics, and Marc Killebrew of Tyson Foods. Little will remain on the executive as past-chairman.

Board members elected to three-year terms ending in 2018 are Mark Blanchard, NOCS; Coleman; Greg Hinton, Rose Acre Farms; Killebrew; Lykken; Monroe; Saher Rizk, Mirasco; and Wayt.

Board members elected to three-year terms ending in 2017 are Carey; Chapman; Randy Meyers, OK Foods; Butch Johnson, Globex International; Little; Thierry Murad, AJC International; Jay Simpson, Perdue Foods; Greg Tench, Mar-Jac Poultry; and Chaz Wilson, Grove Services.

Board members whose terms end in 2016 are Ryan Downes, Farbest Foods; Larry Gibson, George’s; Jeff Johnson, Deb-El Foods; Thomas Isaf, Interra International; Andrew Piper, Wayne Farms; Kent Puffenbarger, Prestage Foods; Bobby Wilburn, Peco Foods; and Alex Ivannikov, Pilgrim’s.