U.S. Poultry & Egg Association presented the organization’s annual Lamplighter Award to four individuals at the International Poultry Expo, part of the 2016 International Production & Processing Expo. The award pays tribute to individuals for “sustained and exemplary service” to the poultry and egg industry.

This year’s honorees are:

Dr. Travis Cigainero, Ceva. He served as director of veterinary services for Pilgrim’s Pride from 1990 until 2015 when he left to join Ceva as manager of broiler technical services. He is a member of the American Veterinary Medical Association, American Association of Avian Pathologists and is an Honorary Member of the University of Georgia’s Masters of Avian Medicine Alumni Association.

Brenda Flick, Sanderson Farms. Flick began her career at Sanderson Farms, Inc., in 1987 and is currently manager of environmental services. Before joining Sanderson Farms, she was employed by Georgia-Pacific Corporation for 16 years in the environmental department. She has served as chairman of the Environmental Committee for the National Chicken Council, president of the Mississippi Water Environment Association, chairman of the Environmental Committee for the Mississippi Manufacturers Association and has been chairman of the Environmental Committee for the Mississippi Poultry Association since 1996.


Dr. Mike Lacy, retired, University of Georgia. He joined the faculty of the Department of Poultry Science at the University of Georgia in 1985 and served as an extension poultry scientist working to assist broiler producers for the bulk of his career. Dr. Lacy has served on the board of directors for the Poultry Science Association and the Federation of Animal Science Societies, and the membership of the Poultry Science Association elected him to serve as president in 2008. He is a recipient of the National County Agricultural Agents Achievement Award, the Poultry Science Association Pfizer Extension Award, the University of Georgia Walter B. Hill Award for Excellence in Public Service, the University of Georgia Epsilon Sigma Phi Administrative Leadership Award and the Georgia Egg Association Golden Egg Award. He was named a Fellow of the Poultry Science Association in 2014. Mike retired as Department Head and professor of Poultry Science at the University of Georgia at the beginning of January.

Gary Cooper, Cooper Farms. His career started more than 30 years ago at Cooper Farms, which produces turkeys and turkey products, eggs and pork. In the third generation at the family-owned operation, he serves as vice president and COO. He is a past president of the Ohio Poultry Association and is a member of the Midwest Poultry Consortium board. He is also a past chairman of USPOULTRY and has served on the USPOULTRY board of directors since 2003.

“We value the commitment and support of this year’s Lamplighter Award recipients,” said Sherman Miller, Cal-Maine Foods, and outgoing USPOULTRY chairman. “They have enthusiastically dedicated themselves to contributing to the industry, and we sincerely appreciate their support and service.”