Mexico has lifted its avian influenza-related bans on poultry exports from 14 U.S. states, but a ban from poultry from Indiana remains in place.

According to the USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS) export library, fresh and frozen poultry products derived from birds originated from, slaughtered or processed from California, Minnesota, Missouri, Arkansas, Kansas, South Dakota, Montana, Wisconsin, Iowa, North Dakota, Nebraska, Idaho, Oregon and Washington will now be cleared for export to Mexico, although there are stipulations regarding the dates from which the products were slaughtered.


FSIS stated that Mexico’s ban on poultry from Indiana remains in place. The state in January reported 10 cases of avian influenza, all in commercial turkey flocks. One of those cases was confirmed to be highly pathogenic H7N8 avian influenza, while eight cases were low pathogenic H7N8 avian influenza. The strain of avian influenza in the other flock was not determined.

No other states have had positive cases of avian influenza in commercial flocks since June 2015. About two months prior to the 2016 avian influenza cases in Indiana, the World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE) had published on its website a report that declared the United States free of avian influenza.