The Poultry Science Association (PSA) has released a list of the recipients of its annual awards and other honors for members working in poultry science and related disciplines. All award winners will be formally honored on July 14 at PSA’s awards celebration during its 105th annual meeting, which will be held July 11-14 in New Orleans.

“PSA is honored to recognize our distinguished 2016 award winners,” PSA President David J. Caldwell, Ph.D. said. “To our award winners, we salute you for your dedication and commitment to poultry science and the broader poultry community. You exemplify excellence in our society and serve as an inspiration to others.”

The association has selected its PSA Fellows, the highest recognition PSA can bestow on a member. Individuals earn the honor for their professional distinction and contributions to the field of poultry science without regard to longevity.

New PSA Fellows

C. Roselina Angel, Ph.D. (University of Maryland)
Nicholas M. Dale, Ph.D. (University of Georgia)
R. Michael Hulet, Ph.D. (Pennsylvania State University)
Joy A. Mench, Ph.D. (University of California, Davis)
Tom E. Porter, Ph.D. (University of Maryland)

Additional PSA Honors and Award Winners

This year PSA honors nearly 40 individuals for their accomplishments and contribution to poultry science. PSA awards professional members for their excellence in areas such as research, teaching and Extension. In addition, PSA recognizes student members for their research and extends travel grants to help students attend the PSA annual meeting.

“We extend a big thank you to those that have taken the time to nominate and recognize efforts of friends and colleagues,” Caldwell said. “You certainly have made each committee’s work extremely difficult with the quality and breadth of work exemplified in those nominations.”


  • American Egg Board Research Award – Kenneth W. Koelkebeck, Ph.D. (University of Illinois)
  • American Feed Industry Association Poultry Nutrition Research Award – Aaron J. Cowieson, Ph.D. (DSM Nutritional Products)
  • American Poultry Historical Society Award – Richard D. Reynnells, Ph.D. (University of Maryland)
  • Evonik Degussa Award for Achievement in Poultry Science – Huaijun Zhou, Ph.D. (University of California, Davis)
  • Hy-Line International Research Award – Lisa R. Bielke, Ph.D. (Ohio State University)
  • National Chicken Council Broiler Research Award – Casey M. Owens, Ph.D. (University of Arkansas)
  • National Turkey Federation Research Award – Peter R. Ferket, Ph.D. (North Carolina State University)
  • Novus International Teaching Award – Robert B. Beckstead, Ph.D. (North Carolina State University)
  • Phibro Extension Award – Darrin Karcher, Ph.D. (Michigan State University)
  • Poultry Welfare Research Award – Michael J. Toscano, Ph.D. (University of Bern)
  • PSA Early Achievement Award for Research – Sunday Adetayo Adedokun, Ph.D. (University of Kentucky)
  • PSA Early Achievement Award for Teaching – Karen Schwean-Lardner, Ph.D., (University of Saskatchewan)
  • Tyson Foods Inc. Support Personnel Award – William R. Larson (Iowa State University)
  • USPOULTRY Distinguished Poultry Industry Career Award – Janet E. Fulton, Ph.D, (Hy-Line International)
  • Zoetis Fundamental Science Award – Luc R. Berghman, Ph.D. (Texas A&M University)

Student Awards

  • Alltech Student Research Manuscript Award – Marisa Erasmus, Ph.D. (Purdue University)
  • Biomin Latin American Graduate Student Travel Grant Award – Luz M. Alzate (Universidad de Antioquia)
  • Jones-Hamilton Co. Undergraduate Student Travel Grant Awards –
    Ariel N. Bergeron (Louisiana State University)
    Kyle Dean Brown (Texas A&M University)
    Nicholas J. Chargo (Michigan State University)
    Pedro H. Ferzola (Universidade Federal Rio Grande do sul)
    Juliana Jespersen (Iowa State University)
    Claire Peichel (University of Minnesota)
    Najim Sekh (Tribhuvan University)
    Kayo Takeshima (University of Guelph) 

PSA Graduate Student Travel Grant Awards

Morouj Al-Ajeeli (Texas A&M University)
Abiodun Bello (University of Alberta)
Manel Hamdi (Autonomous University of Barcelona)
Stephanie Hutsko (Ohio State University)
Pramir Maharjan (University of Arkansas)
Neijat Mohamed (University of Manitoba)
Aniko Molnar (University of Leuven)
Divek V. T. Nair (University of Minnesota)

Additional Awards to Be Announced

Winners of the Aviagen Turkeys Communications Award, Student Research Certificates of Excellence, and Student Research Certificates of Participation will be announced at the awards celebration. Student Research Certificates of Excellence are presented in recognition of students who have presented high-quality research papers at the annual meeting. Student Research Certificates of Participation are presented to undergraduate students who present research papers at the annual meeting.