The American Association of Avian Pathologists has announced the first 27 inductees into the association’s newly formed Hall of Honor.

At AAAP’s 59th annual conference, honors went to Bruce Calnek, Cornell University; Oscar Fletcher, North Carolina State University; John Glisson, US Poultry & Egg Association and the University of Georgia; Charles Hofacre, University of Georgia; Frederic Hoerr, Auburn University; Stanley Kleven, University of Georgia; Yehia Saif, The Ohio State University; Karel Schat, Cornell University; Jagdev Sharma, Arizona State University; David Swayne, USDA Southeast Poultry Research Laboratory; and Richard Lawrence Witter USDA-ARS-Avian Disease and Oncology Laboratory.


“AAAP past presidents went through an extensive process to recommend this first group of avian medicine professionals to the AAAP Board of Directors—all of whom have given and, in most cases, are still giving their time and talent for the betterment of the profession,” explained Bob Bevans-Kerr, executive director for AAAP.

The complete list of AAAP’s Hall of Honor inductees is available online. AAAP will add new members to its Hall of Honor each year.