The American Association of Avian Pathologists (AAAP) saluted scientific achievements of its members recently with an awards luncheon at the association’s 59th annual conference.

Awardees include:

  • Nik Faiz, North Carolina State University, was awarded the Richard B. Rimler Memorial Paper for his work protecting against immunosuppression associated with the ubiquitous Marek’s disease virus. His findings were summarized in his presentation, “Evaluation of Viral and Host Mechanisms Involved in Permanent Marek’s Disease Virus Induced Immunosuppression.”
  • Silvia Carnaccini, University of California-Davis, and Hyesun Jang, The Ohio State University, received the Reed Rumsey Student Awards for clinical and basic research, respectively, in avian influenza.
  • Isabel M Gimeno, North Carolina State University, was honored with the P.P. Levine Award for authoring what the AAAP Awards Committee determined to be the “best paper published” in Avian Diseases, Volume 59: “Evaluation of the Protection Efficacy of a Serotype 1 Marek’s Disease Virus-Vectored Bivalent Vaccine Against Infectious Laryngotracheitis and Marek’s Disease.”
  • Louise Dufour-Zavala, Georgia Poultry Laboratory Network, received the Lasher-Bottorff Award for outstanding achievements over the past 27 years in the area of diagnostics and technical support.
  • Brian Jordan, University of Georgia, was honored with the Bayer-Snoeyenbos New Investigator Award, for his work improving the understanding of vaccination against respiratory diseases, using the coronavirus infectious bronchitis virus as a model.
  • John Glisson, US Poultry & Egg Association and the University of Georgia, and John Smith, Fieldale Farms received the AAAP’s 2016 Special Service Awards for their outstanding contributions in the field of avian medicine.
  • Guillermo Zavala, University of Georgia, received the Bruce W. Calnek Applied Poultry Research Achievement Award for outstanding research resulting a measurable, practical impact on the control of one or more important diseases of poultry. Zavala’s focus was avian leucosis virus, reticuloendotheliosis, infectious laryngotracheitis and runting stunting syndrome.
  • Charles Hofacre, University of Georgia, was this year’s recipient of the Phibro Animal Health Excellence in Poultry Research Award for his “countless research contributions” in the areas of antibiotic resistance, gut health, and foodborne illnesses that include salmonella, campylobacter and E. coli. Hofacre was also honored by AAAP for his association leadership over the last 13 years.
  • Aly Fadly, USDA-ARS Avian Disease and Oncology Laboratory, was honored as a Life Member of AAAP for his more than four decades of service to avian medicine, specifically his “long legacy of research that has focused on the diagnosis, immunopathogenesis, epidemiology, and control of avian retroviruses.”
  • Emily Aston, University of Georgia, received the A.S. Rosenwald Student Poster Award for applied research, “S1 Spike glycoprotein deletion mutant from a GA13-Type Infectious Bronchitis virus binds to chicken trachea.”
  • William Shaw, North Carolina State University, received the A.S. Rosenwald Student Poster Award for basic research, “Pathogenesis of Marek’s Disease vaccine in turkey embryos.”
  • Kabel M. Robbins, Butterball, LLC, Ozark, Arkansas took top honors for Outstanding Field Case/Diagnostic Report Award for his presentation, “Nutrition-induced respiratory disease in turkeys.”

AAAP and its sponsors also awarded 12 academic scholarships and 11 preceptorship awards. A complete list of this year’s awards is online.

The American Association of Avian Pathologists is an international association whose mission is to promote scientific knowledge to enhance the health, well-being, and productivity of poultry to provide safe and abundant food for the world. For more information, visit