The American Feed Industry Association’s Board of Directors met May 14 for its annual spring meeting, where they elected a new chair and several Board and Executive Committee members and conducted other official business. The meeting took place in conjunction with the Purchasing and Ingredient Suppliers Conference  in Orlando, Fla.

The Board of Directors recognized Bruce Crutcher of Micronutrients USA LLC for his leadership as the association’s Board chairman during the 2018-19 AFIA fiscal year. Crutcher now transitions into his one-year chairmanship of the Institute for Feed Education and Research’s (IFEEDER) Board of Trustees.

“Bruce has provided exceptional leadership over this past year as chairman from building consensus to thinking outside of the box to push the association forward in new ways, but always with his eyes on the goal,” said AFIA President and CEO Joel G. Newman. “He played a pivotal role in leading the selection committee search for my successor as CEO, and I commend him for his diligence in seeking and listening to the input of our membership in the process.”

In addition, the Board officially elected Tim Belstra, chairman of Belstra Milling Co., as its new chairman. His one-year term is effective through the end of AFIA’s fiscal year April 30, 2020.


The Board voted to accept the nomination of Scott Druker of Church & Dwight Company, Inc. to become chair-elect of the organization. Druker will succeed Belstra in May 2020.

The Board also elected the following individuals to serve three-year terms, which began during the meeting: Jeff Ast, Lallemand Animal Nutrition; Mike Gauss, Kent Nutrition Group, Inc.; Carlos Gonzalez, Ph.D., Hill’s Pet Nutrition; Alan Gunderson, Vita Plus Corporation; Kevin Halpin, Ph.D., International Ingredient Corporation; Camissa Hummel, ADM Animal Nutrition, Inc; Steve Lerner, Chr. Hansen Animal Health and Nutrition; Andrew Loder, Wilbur-Ellis Nutrition LLC; Joe Lucas, CJ America, Inc.; Eric McMillan, Cactus Feeders; Landis Shoemaker, Sunnyside Feeds LLC; Michael Skuodas, POET Nutrition; Dean Warras, Phibro Animal Health Corporation; Glen Wilkinson, Huvepharma, Inc.; Jonathan Wheat, 4B Components, Ltd.; and Mindy Whittle, Bayer U.S. – Crop Science.

The Board approved seven nominated individuals as additions to AFIA’s Executive Committee: Mitch Anderson of PerforMix Nutritional Systems, LLC; Kevin Baker of Valley Proteins, Inc.; Holly Bellmund of GLC Minerals, LLC; Scott Druker of Church & Dwight Company, Inc.; Sherman Miller of Cal-Maine Foods, Inc.; Lisa Norton of BioZyme Incorporated; and Jason Vickers of Mars Petcare US.

In addition, the Board accepted the nominations of nine individuals to the IFEEDER Board of Trustees: Cathy Bandyk, Ph.D., of AB Vista, Inc.; Tim Belstra of Belstra Milling Co.; Mike Goble of Diamond V; Marc de Beer of Elanco Animal Health; Ed Galo of Novus International, Inc.; Mark Lueking of Cargill Animal Nutrition; C. Ross Hamilton, Ph.D., of Darling Ingredients Inc.; A. Wayne Rod of The F.L. Emmert Company; and Chad Risley, Ph.D., of Berg+Schmidt America, LLC.