Pharmaceutical company Boehringer Ingelheim Vetmedica Inc. has awarded $100,000 to the four recipients of its 2010 Advancement in PRRS Research Awards. This is the eighth year that BIVI has sponsored the awards.

The 2010 research award recipients and their research proposals were recognized in March at the American Association of Swine Veterinarians Conference in Omaha, Neb.:


  • Robert Morrison, DVM, Ph.D., University of Minnesota—A study to compare whole-herd exposure programs as an aid in eliminating PRRS virus from sow herds.
  • Paul Yeske, DVM, MS, Swine Vet Center, St. Peter, Minn.—A study to evaluate airborne shedding of Ingelvac® PRRS ATP vaccine in commercial conditions.
  • Josh Bowden, DVM, MS, Premium Standard Farms, Inc., Princeton, Mo.—A study to assess the impact of vegetative environmental buffers on local aerosolized spread of PRRS virus.
  • Mark Wagner, DVM, Fairmont Veterinary Clinic, Fairmont, Minn.—A study to evaluate aspirin for reduction of fever and improvement of performance in isowean pigs with uncomplicated PRRS virus infections.

Members of the PRRS Review Board included: Paul Ruen, DVM, vice president of the American Association of Swine Veterinarians; Bill Mengeling, DVM, Ph.D., Iowa State University/NADC (retired), Ames, Iowa; Montse Torremorell, DVM, Ph.D., University of Minnesota; Tim Loula, DVM, Swine Vet Center, St. Peter, Minn.; Luc Defresne, DVM, Seaboard Farms, Shawnee Mission, Kan.; and Daryl Olsen, DVM, Audubon-Manning Veterinary Clinic, Audubon, Iowa.

The four research proposals were selected based on established criteria that include potential for economic impact to the swine industry; originality and scientific quality; and probability of success in completing the study. Proposal entries for the 2011 Advancement in PRRS Research Awards are due on January 1, 2011.