The United States Senate has voted against a motion to extend the biodiesel tax credit.


The 41-58 vote fell short of the required 67 votes needed for the amendment to pass. The original tax credit expired on Dec. 31, 2009, and the motion would have retroactively extended the credit through the end of 2010. The American Soybean Association has expressed its determination to continue to campaign for an extension until Congress adjourns to campaign for the upcoming elections.