U.S. Senator Mike Johanns and U.S. Representative Collin Peterson have received the President's Award from the Council for Agricultural Science and Technology in recognition for their efforts in furthering the cause of agriculture, science and technology. 

CAST Executive VP/CEO Dr. John Bonner and former CAST President Dr. Gale Buchanan presented the awards on March 15 in Washington, D.C.


Senator Johanns grew up on a farm and eventually became the 28th Secretary of the U.S. Department of Agriculture in January 2005. He is the Ranking Member on the Agriculture Committee's Domestic and Foreign Marketing, Inspection and Plant & Animal Health Subcommittee. Representative Peterson also has farming roots and he has been in Congress since 1990. Currently the Ranking Member of the House Agriculture Committee, he has been involved in many agriculture bills.