The European Probiotic Association has announced the creation of a multinational scientific committee of experts representing different aspects of animal nutrition and microbiology.

The members of the EPA Scientific Committee are:


  • Professor Joaquim Brufau; Institut de Recerca i Tecnologia Agroalimentàries; Spain
  • Dr. François -Joël Gatesoupe; Institut National de la Recherche Agronomique and Institut français de recherche pour l'exploitation de la mer; France
  • Professor Jean-François Guillot; Université de Tours and member of the Scientific Committee for Animal Nutrition; France
  • Professor Jamie Newbold; Aberystwyth University; Wales

The committee will hold a press conference, entitled “What does the history of probiotics hold for the future?” during Victam International in Cologne, Germany, on May 3, 2011. Committee members will provide their opinions on probiotics and what makes them work in animal nutrition.