Advertisement

News and analysis on the global poultry
and animal feed industries.

Webinar: Understanding challenges of Newcastle disease and prevention strategies

4/30/19 6:00 am CDT

Boehringer Ingelheim webinar logoRegister to learn how to prevent Newcastle disease in your flock.

Newcastle disease (ND) is a highly contagious, generalized viral disease of domestic poultry, cage and aviary birds, and wild birds but also seen in domestic poultry as a rapidly fatal, high-mortality condition characterized by gastrointestinal, respiratory and/or nervous signs. ND viruses have a varying capability to produce clinical disease in domestic chickens, with some virus strains showing high levels of pathogenicity. The World Organization for Animal Health (OIE) has defined ND as the disease caused by viruses whose high and moderate pathogenicity is demonstrated in tests on chickens. Vaccination and biosecurity are considered the best remedies in the prevention and control of the disease in domestic poultry. 

WHAT YOU’LL LEARN:
1. Infection of domestic poultry with NDV contributes to decreased productivity.
2. Infected birds shed virus in exhaled air, respiratory discharges, and feces.
3. Movement of infected birds and transfer of virus.
4. Immune status of poultry flock.

This webinar will broadcast at 6:00 AM Central (Chicago) / 12:00 PM BST (London) / 1:00 PM CEST (Paris) / 7:00 PM CST (Beijing).

This webinar series is sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim and is presented by WATT Global Media.

 


 

Speaker Info:
 

Stephane Lemiere_headshotDr. Stephane Lemiere, global head at Boehringer Ingelheim

Dr. Stephane Lemiere is a doctor in Veterinary Medicine recognized specialist in poultry pathology.  Member of the American Association of Avian Pathologists, the French Branch of the World Veterinary Poultry Association, the World Poultry Science Association Course Master Broiler Chicken Production WVEPAH. Boehringer Ingelheim Global Head, Technical Services, Lyon, France Leading the Global Poultry Veterinary Technical Services group.

 

Perozo headshotDr. Francisco A. Perozo, poultry technical services at Boehringer Ingelheim

Dr. Francisco A. Perozo, PhD in infectious diseases from University for Georgia USA. His interests are in diagnostics and control of poultry viral diseases. He has published more than forty peer reviewed papers and spoken in over hundred scientific forums and meetings around the world. He is member of American Association of Avian pathologists, Emeritus Professor at University of Zulia in Venezuela. Currently he is in charge of the poultry technical services for ANDEAN region at Boehringer Ingelheim.