News and analysis on the global poultry
and animal feed industries.

Webinar: Tips for modern hatchery management

6/25/19 7:00 am CDT

Boehringer Ingelheim webinar logoRegister to learn new techniques for controlling embryonic growth.

Incubation period variation is related to the growth rate of the embryos that differs between batches of eggs.  Flock age and egg storage are the few parameters that influence embryonic growth rate and, thus, hatching duration. New techniques will allow greater control over embryonic growth to influence uniformity. Other new developments that include increased roles for both ultrasound and micrometry egg shell analysis grading shell thickness by mass to influence the hatch window and day-old chick uniformity. This will assist in creating robust day-old chicks, better prepared to express their genetic potential from the moment of hatch.

WHAT YOU’LL LEARN:

  1. There may be two distinct explanations for the shorter incubation time of eggs from peak production flocks.
  2. Temperature distribution should be as narrow as possible to meet the requirement of individual egg and thus individual embryo in the incubator.
  3. Measuring the true incubation period from setting to hatching is important for optimized planning.
  4. New hatchery systems improve control in the hatchery by alerting the hatchery manager automatically to alarm events, and provide predictive management tools for hatchery maintenance and the management of spares and stock.

This webinar will broadcast at 7:00 AM Central (Chicago) / 1:00 PM BST (London) / 2:00 PM CEST (Paris) / 8:00 PM CST (Beijing).

This webinar series is sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim and is presented by WATT Global Media.

 


 

Speaker Info:
 

Scott Martin headshotScott Martin, hatchery consultant

Scott Martin Bio Scott Martin lives in Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA.He has been a hatchery consultant for three years and has 42 years of experience in the poultry industry. He started his career at Simmons Foods where he worked for 16 years. There his roles were Hatchery Manager, Director of Hatcheries, Broiler Manager, Breeder Manager, and Production Manager.From Simmons, he moved to Cobb-Vantress. There, for 21 years, he was a member of the World Technical Support group as Hatchery Specialist, traveling and serving customers worldwide.