The U.S. Senate Agriculture Committee has announced the leadership and membership of the Subcommittee on Livestock, Marketing and Agriculture Security.

The subcommittee is in charge of overseeing matters involving livestock and dairy production, as well as marketing, food safety and security issues.

Sen. Cindy Hyde-Smith, R-Mississippi, has been selected to chair the subcommittee, while Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand, D-New York, has been chosen as the ranking member.

Hyde-Smith, who was appointed to replace retiring Sen. Thad Cochran in April 2018, was elected to her first full Senate term in November of the same year, defeating former U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Mike Espy, who also previously represented Mississippi in the U.S. House of Representatives.

Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand will be the ranking member of the Senate Agriculture Committee's Subcommittee on Livestock, Marketing and Agriculture Security. (Office of Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand)


Gillibrand, who has announced her candidacy for president in 2020, has been a member of the U.S. Senate since 2009. Gillibrand is also the first Senator from New York to serve on the agriculture committee in nearly 40 years.

Other subcommittee members include: Sens. Joni Ernst, R-Iowa; Patrick Leahy, D-Vermont; Mike Braun, R-Indiana; Amy Klobuchar, D-Minnesota; David Perdue, R-Georgia; Robert Casey Jr., D-Pennsylvania; Charles “Chuck” Grassley, R-Iowa; Tina Smith, D-Minnesota; and Deb Fischer, R-Nebraska.

Senate Agriculture Committee Chairman Pat Roberts, R-Kansas, and Ranking Member Debbie Stabenow, D-Michigan, will serve as ex-officio members for this and all other agriculture-related subcommittees.

The appointments, which are effective for the 116th Congress, were announced on February 7 at the agriculture committee’s business meeting.