Randall Ennis, chief executive officer of the World Poultry Foundation, was recognized with the 2020 Poultry Science Association Distinguished Poultry Industry Career Award, sponsored by U.S. Poultry & Egg Association (USPOULTRY). The Distinguished Poultry Industry Career Award recognizes distinctive, outstanding contributions by an industry leader. In addition to sponsoring the award, USPOULTRY also makes an annual contribution to the Poultry Science Association Foundation on behalf of the award recipient.

 “USPOULTRY is pleased to honor industry leaders exemplified by Randall Ennis. He is widely recognized for his many years of work and contribution to the poultry industry, ranging from production to primary breeding, as well as through his current role as chief executive officer of the World Poultry Foundation,” said Greg Hinton, Rose Acre Farms, and USPOULTRY chairman.

 “Randall has been a long-time supporter of USPOULTRY, with personal involvement in our seminar programs and the IPPE. He has also contributed his time to our Foundation’s College Student Career Program that supports the recruitment and training of students and promotes careers in the poultry and egg industries,” commented John Starkey, president of USPOULTRY.


 After obtaining a Bachelor of Science degree in Poultry Science from Auburn University in 1983, his career has covered a variety of technical and managerial positions in the integrated and primary breeding sectors of the industry. In 2015, Ennis transitioned into the non-profit sector with a focus on poultry in developing countries. He has traveled to more than 75 countries during the span of his career.

 Ennis has served on numerous boards including the National Chicken Council, the Alabama Poultry and Egg Association (past president), the National Poultry Technology Center, and the European Primary Breeders Council. His awards and honors include Outstanding Alumni from Auburn University (2014), Alabama Poultry and Egg Presidential Award (2015), the Auburn University Alumni Service Award (2017), and he was honored as the graduation commencement speaker for the Auburn University graduating class of 2018.