American Poultry Hall of Fame inductees announced

Ceremony to take place at International Poultry Exposition

The American Poultry Historical Society has announced five new inductees into the American Poultry Industry Hall of Fame. They are:

  • Donald Dalton, past president of the U.S. Poultry & Egg Association, who expanded it from a regional association focused on the southeast
  • Lonnie “Bo” Pilgrim, founder of Pilgrim’s Pride and one of the first to use vertical integration as the model for poultry production
  • Paul B. Siegel, a distinguished professor at Virginia Tech who has focused his research on genetic selection in poultry
  • Robert D. Sparboe, founder of Sparboe Farms Inc., the fifth largest egg producing and marketing company in the United States, who died in 2005
  • J. Paul Thaxton Jr., co-founder of Embrex, the world’s first biotechnology company dedicated to poultry, and professor of poultry science at Mississippi State University until his death in 2007

The induction ceremony will take place Thursday, January 28, 2010, at the International Poultry Exposition in Atlanta, Ga. The Award ceremony begins at 9 a.m. in Room A-411 of the Georgia World Congress Center.

Page 1 of 46
Next Page