The American Feed Industry Association has appointed William C. Barr as chairman.

Barr, the president of Bill Barr & Company Inc., succeeds StevenVanRoekel, the president and CEO of Ridley Inc. The terms of chairman and past chairman are one year. The board also voted Alan Gunderson as chairman-elect; the vice president of Vita Plus Corporation will succeed Barr in May 2012.

The following individuals were elected to three-year terms on the AFIA board and began their service with the May Board meeting:


  • David Probert, ADM Alliance Nutrition Inc.
  • Gary Cooper, Cooper Farms Inc.
  • Ivan Pedigo, Gold River Feed Products
  • Mike Nicoletti, Penny Newman
  • Alan Gunderson, Vita Plus Corporation
  • Steve Boehmer, Westway Feed Products LLC
  • Rich Dwyer, Kent Feeds
  • Steve Brody, Pioneer, A Dupont Company
  • Ken Vaupel, Alfagreen Supreme
  • Nathan Yates, Corn Products International Inc.
  • Paul Phillips, Maxi-Lift Inc.
  • Bill Braman, Chr. Hansen Animal Health and Nutrition
  • Herald Scherf, DSM Nutritional Products Inc.
  • John Thompson, Evonik Industries
  • Wendy Plocher, FMC Corporation
  • Greg Kean, WellPet LLC

The following individuals joined AFIA’s executive committee:

  • Jeffrey Cannon, Diamond V Mills Inc.
  • RB Halaby, AgriCapital Corporation
  • Lee Hall, Hallway Feeds
  • Tracy Harris, Central Life Sciences
  • Mike Osborne, Nutra Blend LLC
  • Mark McCulley, The HANOR Family of Companies

The following individuals were elected to the Institute of Feed Education and Research board of trustees:

  • Mark Lyons, Alltech Inc.
  • Eddie Wells, Milk Specialties Global