AFIA board talks industry issues on Capitol Hill; Welcomes new leadership

Members of the American Feed Industry Association's Board of Directors met May 4-5, in Washington, D.C., to discuss priority issues affecting the animal food industry.

AFIA board members

(Left to right: 2016-17 AFIA Board of Directors Chair Paul Phillips and past Chair Rob Sheffer.)

Members of the American Feed Industry Association's Board of Directors met May 4-5, in Washington, D.C., to discuss priority issues affecting the animal food industry. The Board, comprised of 40 industry representatives, took up the issues--including the cumbersome Food Safety Modernization Act--with various legislators during the association's annual spring visit to the nation's capital.

Board members promoted AFIA positions on proposed legislation for GMO labeling, FDA Animal Food Amendments Act and the Trans-Pacific Partnership. The group also attended a legislative briefing at the U.S. Capitol Building during the trip.

AFIA's Board met to recognize Rob Sheffer, Waycrosse, for his leadership as the association's chair during the 2015-16 year, welcome his successor, Paul Phillips, Maxi-Lift Inc./Southwest Agri-Plastics Inc., and announce its Chair-elect and incoming directors, and elect new members to the organization's Executive Committee.

"Rob has been very instrumental in the development process of AFIA's Consumer Communication Project for our industry," said AFIA President and CEO Joel G. Newman. "This project will educate key influencers about our industry contributions and also educate members on how to communicate with their consumers."

"Paul has been involved in various facets of the association and we are confident that he will bring growth and innovation to the table for this upcoming year as chairman," Newman said.

Phillips has served on both AFIA's Board and Executive Committee, as well as its Equipment Manufacturer Committee since 2015. He was a founding member of the Board of Trustees for AFIA's foundation, the Institute for Feed Education & Research (IFEEDER). In 2011, Phillips received the AFIA Member of the Year award.

Phillips is president of Maxi-Lift Inc., and vice president of Southwest Agri-Plastics, Inc., in Addison, Texas. He earned a bachelor's degree in marketing from West Texas A&M University.

Phillips' one-year term as chair is effective as of May 1.

The Board voted to accept the nomination of Lee Hall, Hallway Feeds, to become chair-elect of the organization. Hall will succeed Phillips in May 2017.

The following individuals were elected to three-year terms on the AFIA Board and began their service during the meeting: George Betton, Perdue Farms; Jeff Cannon, Diamond V; Paul Davis, Tennessee Farmers’ Cooperative; Marc de Beer, DSM Nutritional Products; Phil Greene, Foster Farms Inc.; Jonathan Griffin, Balchem Corporation; Rurik Halaby, AgriCapital Corporation; Guy Harari, Adisseo USA Inc.; Marty Hudak-Roos, Nature's Variety; Paul Kalmbach, Kalmbach Feeds, Inc.; Mark Lueking, Cargill Animal Nutrition; Dan Meagher, Agrivida Inc.; Chad Risley, Berg+Schmidt America, LLC; Mike Van Koevering; Elanco Animal Health; Doug Webel, JBS United, Inc.; and Russ Wyllie, Zinpro Corporation.

The six nominated individuals chosen as additions to AFIA's Executive Committee were approved: Cory Berg, Quality Liquid Feeds; Scott Drucker, Church & Dwight Company; John Howe, Manna Pro Products; Mike Hudspith, Ridley, Inc.; Diane Loiselle, Hill's Pet Nutrition; and Mike Manning, F. L. Emmert Company.

Rob Sheffer, Waycrosse, was elected chair, and Dean Warras, Phibro Animal Health, was elected vice-chair, of IFEEDER. AFIA's Board of Directors elected Tim Belstra, Belstra Milling, and Mike Manning, F. L. Emmert Company, as new trustees to the IFEEDER Board of Trustees. Their terms expire April 2019.

IFEEDER was created by AFIA in 2009 to address the education and research challenges our U.S. food and feed production industries will face in the next 40 years and beyond, as the world's population grows by almost 2.5 billion people. 

Page 1 of 65
Next Page